Today, we remember Jay.

This is Jay Harrell.

In three weeks, I will be running my half-marathon in memory of Jay.  My race lies before me, all 13.1 miles with hopefully only a few hills.  As I think about running the race I have before me, I’m reminded of the scripture  of Hebrews 12:

1Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. 2Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.3Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

You see, we each have a race marked out for us here on earth and there are lots of things along our path that we have to fight through, rejoice in, all the while keeping our eyes on Jesus so that through everything, we don’t grow weary and lose heart. Jay Harrell fixed his eyes on his savior and ran an amazing race.

In Jay’s race, one of his “hills” was leukemia and it was a long hard fight for his family to run with him.  But they did it-loving, supporting, praying, all the while trusting their heavenly Father with the health of the man they loved so much.  God made Jay whole and complete 6 years ago, but his legacy lives on and he is still missed so much.  There are thousands of others who are still running their race and fighting for their lives, literally and we still need your help. My running and raising my support for Team in Training is the one way I can help in the fight.

You may be asking why run in memory of Jay specifically.  Well this is why:

You see, I love Rad, Emily, and Gressett more than words can truly express. They have been the hands and love of God so many times in our lives that I lost count. We have walked together through so many things in life and I know their friendship to us is a unique and treasured gift from God. Years ago,when Rad first told me about his brother, I even remembered praying for Jay and his family at one of my first meetings on staff with North Point Ministries.

Anywho, I care and desire to run in memory of Jay simply because he mattered to Rad and Em therefore he matters to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today, we remember Jay.

  1. gressett says:

    THANKS for honoring Jay! You mean the world to us too!!! So grateful he gets to be supported in such a great cause! I know you will do great!

Leave a Reply

